Book Review: Tremontaine created by Ellen Kushner

I received a review copy from the publisher. This does not affect the contents of my review and all opinions are my own.

Tremontaine by Ellen Kushner, Alaya Dawn Johnson, Malinda Lo, Joel Derfner, Patty Bryant, Racheline Maltese, Paul Witcover

Mogsy’s Rating: 3 of 5 stars

Genre: Fantasy

Series: Book 1 of Tremontaine

Publisher: Saga Press (May 2, 2017)

Length: 688 pages

Author Information: Website | Twitter

Driven by the excellent experience I had with Bookburners earlier this year, I vowed to myself I would check out more serials from Serial Box. Pleasantly surprised by how well the structure of the serial novel worked for me, I wanted more—and thus my attention immediately fell upon Tremontaine Season One, the collection of all thirteen episodes released from Saga Press.

But while Bookburners came out of the gate running, throwing readers headfirst into the action right from the start, Tremontaine turned out to be a more measured affair, taking a handful of episodes to establish the setting and characters before easing into the meat of the story. Another way to look at it might be: if Bookburners is perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, then the pacing and themes of Tremontaine would probably make it more appealing to fans of the action, romances, and politics of period dramas.

To provide a bit of context, Tremontaine is actually considered a prequel to Ellen Kushner’s highly acclaimed Riverside series, which I confess I have not read—though I know that the first book Swordpoint and the subsequent novels set in the same universe have been praised for its diversity and LGBT-friendly characters and world. Tremontaine continues in this tradition. In episode one, we are introduced to a vibrant setting, its atmosphere seemingly reminiscent of 17th or 18th century Europe. There appears to be two sides to this city, one characterized by luxuriously dressed nobles indulging themselves with decadent balls, masquerades, and of course, copious amounts of chocolate. The other side is a darker, seedier underworld where all manner of rogues and scoundrels gather to do their drinking, whoring, and gambling.

Among the nobles, one of the most prominent figures is Diane the Duchess of Tremontaine, a beautiful woman with a calculating eye and a sharp mind seeking to restore the glory of her House. While her husband is the one who technically holds ducal authority, in truth it is Diane who has all the power. Next we meet Ixkaab Balam, a young foreign woman who hails from an influential merchant family, newly arrived by boat to make her name in this strange land. Other members of the key cast also include Micah, an autistic farm girl whose uncanny talent for mathematics eventually leads her to a university where she meets Rafe, a passionate scholar who has dreams of one day opening his own school.

With all these disparate plotlines in play, things simmer for a while before exploding. I would say that, as much as I enjoyed the first handful of episodes, I did not consider myself thoroughly hooked until much later in the novel. Tremontaine is a serial that takes a slow burn approach, steadily building its foundations so that when the long anticipated action and passions do come, they are much more impactful. This does mean that it takes a good deal of patience to get to the exciting parts, but sticking it out will pay off in the end.

However, reading Tremontaine also made me feel skeptical of the multi-author serial format for the first time. I think having several authors on the same project works perfectly fine as long as their styles are alike enough to complement each other, as was the case with Bookburners where each episode written by their respective authors flowed easily from one to the next. In contrast, the transitions between episodes did not go as smoothly in Tremontaine. This was my first experience with all the authors, a lineup that includes Ellen Kushner, Malinda Lo, Alaya Dawn Johnson, Joel Derfner, Racheline Maltese, Patty Bryant, and Paul Witcover. They’re all very good writers, each with their own talents and individual flair. The problem with having so many different styles, however, is that the changes between episodes are very noticeable and distracting. Furthermore, episodes in Tremontaine do not follow the “mini-story” structure (the way many episodes in Bookburners did), with many of them having no rising action or resolution, and that together with the awkward transitions between authors made picking up at the beginning of each episode a little more difficult.

The characters were also not as strong as I would have liked. Among the main characters, my favorite was hands down Diane. She’s ambitious, cunning, and merciless, not to mention she’s sitting on a deep, dark secret that paints her in a very bad light. Still, I can’t help it; I seem to be drawn to these sly, scheming Machiavellian types—especially when they’re women. Compared to Diane though, no one else could really hold a candle to her. Kaab was interesting but I felt many of her sections felt like filler, especially when they could have gone to develop other characters like Micah, whom I loved but whose role felt underused. In particular I also felt a deep annoyance for Rafe, whose self-absorption and blind spots were done just a tad too much for me.

Still, I enjoyed my time with the first season of Tremontaine. Admittedly, it had a slow start, and if I had only a few episodes on hand to begin with, I might have given up early. Fortunately, this is where having a complete season really helps; I was able to keep going and reach a point where the story built up enough momentum to deliver on all its promises of swashbuckling action, passionate love affairs, political conflict and scandalous drama—plus enough descriptions of rich delicious chocolate to make your mouth water! Based on a world that is known for its vibrant diversity and queer-friendly themes, this prequel serial continues the trend in offering something new and different from the status quo. If you’re into “vanity fair” types of stories featuring adventure, romance, and intrigue, then I urge you to give Tremontaine a closer look.

Advertisements

18 Comments on “Book Review: Tremontaine created by Ellen Kushner

  1. I remember reading a short story featuring duchess Diane on one of the online SFF magazines, and being intrigued by this apparently meek character who has a steel backbone and a cunning mind. That said, I can understand what you meant with “slow burn” and agree on having the complete series to really throw oneself into the story.
    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Like

  2. I agree with you that the multi author format didn’t work as well for Tremontaine. It’s the weakest of the three Serial Box stories I’ve tried so far, but I’m still planning on reading the second volume.

    Like

  3. Everything about this one sounds so decadent! (And it sounds like there was plenty of chocolate 😀 ) Like you, I was tempted to try this one after enjoying Bookburners soooo much, but without Max Gladstone’s magic touch on the project, I was hesitant to jump into such a large commitment. I wonder how the Bookburner writers managed to mesh so well? The series editor must have been ON IT lol Thank you for the helpful review!

    Like

    • I know, right? Maybe the Bookburners authors’ styles just naturally meshed very well, or I’m guessing they might have gotten some general stylistic guidelines to follow? Either way though, yes, it flowed very well. The author transitions in Tremontaine were distracting in comparison.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, that makes sense! If the story and style were outlined well, that would probably help a lot. For me, writing is such a solitary activity, I have trouble imagining a collaboration like this, but some amazing authors can obv do it! 💪 Well, hopefully the Tremontaine authors will be more practiced in season II *crosses fingers*

        Like

  4. Being a fan of SWORDSPOINT, I got excited when I began the review, but then I was turned off by the multiple author format. Definitely, an episodic format with different authors can work. I’m just not a fan of it. 😦

    Like

    • Yeah, I would say multi-author projects that work are rare…but they do exist! As I mentioned in previous comments, Bookburners is fantastic. If it weren’t for the episode title dividers with credits, sometimes I couldn’t even tell.

      Like

  5. I don’t think this is one for me at the moment – it just doesn’t appeal to me for some reason – and it’s huge!
    Maybe at some point but not for the immediate future.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

  6. Pingback: Mogsy’s Bookshelf Roundup: Stacking the Shelves & Recent Reads | The BiblioSanctum

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: