Friday Face-Off: Beach/Seaside

Welcome to The Friday Face-Off, a weekly meme created by Books by Proxy! Each Friday, we will pit cover against cover while also taking the opportunity to showcase gorgeous artwork and feature some of our favorite book covers. If you want to join the fun, simply choose a book each Friday that fits that week’s predetermined theme, post and compare two or more different covers available for that book, then name your favorite. A list of future weeks’ themes are available at Lynn’s Book Blog.

This week’s theme is:

”Oh I do like to be beside the seaside!”
~ a cover featuring the BEACH/SEASIDE

Mogsy’s Pick:
Harrison Squared by Daryl Gregory

Folks don’t usually associate sunny beaches and seashores with tentacles…unless you are an avid reader of Lovecraft-inspired horror featuring creepy little New England towns perched on the rocky coasts of the North Atlantic, of course. My pick for this week’s topic is a book set in fictional Dunnsmouth, a classic Lovecraftian town where strange things happen in the darkness of night and monstrous creatures lurk beneath the cold, merciless waves. Harrison Squared is a dark fantasy adventure following the tale of a teenage boy who lost his leg in a boating accident when he was a toddler. Harrison still remembers the sight of the giant tentacled sea monster that capsized his family’s boat and claimed his father’s life. Now years later, he searches for his marine biologist mother, unwilling to believe she is dead after she fails to return home from her latest research trip out to sea.

Only two covers available for this one, but they are both pretty striking:

Tor Books (2015) vs. Titan Books (2015)

 

Winner:

I’m going to go with the Titan Books edition for this one. Even though it gives off a vague sense that this is a fun, wacky book (it’s really not, in spite of its “adventurous” description and its quirky moments – the overall tone is actually kind of dark which probably makes the Tor cover more appropriate), the bright yellow is simply too eye-catching to ignore. I do love both covers, but the Titan one is especially well designed and constructed. If I passed by it on a shelf, I think it’d immediately leap out at me, before drawing my gaze to the single insidious tentacle reaching out from the life-preserver.

Well, that was my thought process anyway! What do you think? Which one is your favorite?

Advertisements

18 Comments on “Friday Face-Off: Beach/Seaside

  1. Ooh strange things under the water. Yes please. And I totally agree- the Tor cover is darker but the bright yellow just jumps off the shelf (or would, I imagine). I think I need to get this!

    Oh and that tagline kills me. lol

    Like

  2. From how you described it, I know I would feel very mislead by the yellow cover. Looking at it, I see a light creature feature book. Not Lovecraftian horror 🙂

    I would probably end up writing a post about how publishers are destroying books with their insidious plans to lie to us, the readers and buyers.

    Like

    • Haha, and in that post, you should also mention how annoying those “It’s Harry Potter meets The Hunger Games!” or “Perfect for fans of Game of Thrones and Divergent!” blurbs are. The worst part is, they’re never anywhere close to accurate!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, you are 100% correct there! I’ve learned to stay away from books that get compared to other books right on the cover. It usually means they’re not good enough to succeed on their own.

        Like

  3. True, the Tor cover is more suited to the overall story, but the Titan cover is perfect because it’s… sneaky 😀 It promises you some light-hearted fun, but then there is that tentacle peeking out of the lifebelt, and the yellow expanse does not make you notice immediately that the tentacle broke the wooden plank to come out… As I said, sssssneaky!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have to say I like the Tor cover better, I think it fits with the overall feeling of dark, dank grayness that I felt while reading the book. The yellow cover makes it look like a comedy!

    Like

  5. The yellow one does almost look like it’s going to be a fun book but I think that’s part of why it wins – because you then notice the life saver which has been invaded by a huge, boat shattering tentacle. A light hearted cover at first glance that is actually a lot more menacing on second look.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: