Bookshelf Roundup 10/02/22: Stacking the Shelves & Recent Reads

Bookshelf Roundup is a feature I do every weekend which fills the role of several blog memes, like Stacking the Shelves where I talk about the new books I’ve added to my library or received for review, as well as It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? where I summarize what I’ve finished reading in the last week and what I’m planning to read soon. Mostly it also serves as a recap post, so sometimes I’ll throw in stuff like reading challenge progress reports, book lists, and other random bookish thoughts or announcements.

black line

Received for Review

My thanks to the publishers and authors for the following review copies received, and be sure to click the links to their Goodreads pages for more details and full descriptions!

A big thanks to Union Square Co. this week for sending me a review copy of A Broken Blade by Melissa Blair, the first book of The Halfling Saga which is a new Young Adult series about an assassin spy who tracks her latest target to the lands of the Fae. When Tachyon Publications also contacted me last month about their upcoming titles, Bitter Medicine by Mia Tsai also caught my eye. Thanks so much to the publisher for sending me an ARC of this urban fantasy romance between a Chinese Immortal and a French elf. A huge thanks also to Tor Books for sending me an ARC of The Terraformers by Annalee Newitz, a sci-fi novel of space exploraton and settlement which has been described as perfect for fans of Becky Chambers and Martha Wells.

Just in time for the spooky season, Tor Nightfire also made my week with these two new arrivals, Little Eve by Catriona Ward and The Witch in the Well by Camilla Bruce. I’ve already started on the latter. It’s gonna be an awesome October!

In the digital haul, the beginning of the month always brings new audiobooks. With thanks to Hachette Audio for an ALC of Blitz by Daniel O’Malley, the long awaited third book of The Checquy Files.

And with thanks to Penguin Random House Audio for the following listening copies: Station Eternity by Mur LaffertyThe Family Game by Catherine SteadmanJackal by Erin E. Adams, and Dead Man’s Hand by James J. Butcher.

Reviews

Stay Awake by Megan Goldin (4 of 5 stars)
Bad Dolls by Rachel Harrison (4 of 5 stars)

What I’ve Been Reading

Have you heard of or read any of the books featured this week? What caught your eye? Any new discoveries? I hope you found something interesting for a future read!

19 Comments on “Bookshelf Roundup 10/02/22: Stacking the Shelves & Recent Reads”

  1. Blitz is already pre-ordered and I am really looking forward to it.

    I sure hope Jimbo Butcher doesn’t flame out. I’ve seen several instances of author’s children turning their hands to the craft and riding their parents coat tails 😦

    Like

  2. I just learned about The Terraformers this week and the premise caught my attention. I’ve not read anything by that author yet but would love to.

    Like

    • I’ve read only one book by the author and it did not work for me at all, but it was a long time ago and that one was a novella with a strange premise. This one definitely sounds a lot more promising, so I’m looking forward to giving Newitz’s work another try!

      Like

  3. Ooo… what a wonderful haul, Mogsy! I love the sound of The Terraformers – it’s right up my street:)). And I also like the sound of The Witch in the Well. I’ve bought The Golden Enclave and haven’t yet got around to reading it as I’m horribly behind my arc TBR pile… But I’m looking forward to starting it. Happy reading, my friend:)).

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: