Waiting on Wednesday 08/22/18

Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme that first originated at Breaking the Spine but has since linked up with “Can’t Wait Wednesday” at Wishful Endings now that the original creator is unable to host it anymore. Either way, this fun feature is a chance to showcase the upcoming releases that we can’t wait to get our hands on!

Mogsy’s Pick

The Unbound Empire by Melissa Caruso (April 30, 2019 by Orbit Books)

 Swords and Fire trilogy has been one of my favorite fantasy series to come out in the last couple years, and it’s hard to believe the third book and final book is already on the horizon for next spring.

The final volume of the Gemmell Morningstar Award-shortlisted Swords and Fire fantasy trilogy, in which political scion Amalia and her bound fire warlock Zaira must save the Empire from a ruthless, magical enemy. Perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, The Queen of the Tearling, and Uprooted.

While winter snows keep the Witch Lord Ruven’s invading armies at bay, Lady Amalia Cornaro and the fire warlock Zaira attempt to change the fate of mages in the Raverran Empire forever, earning the enmity of those in power who will do anything to keep all magic under tight imperial control. But in the season of the Serene City’s great masquerade, Ruven executes a devastating surprise strike at the heart of the Empire – and at everything Amalia holds most dear.

To stand a chance of defeating Ruven, Amalia and Zaira must face their worst nightmares, expose their deepest secrets, and unleash Zaira’s most devastating fire.”

Advertisements

27 Comments on “Waiting on Wednesday 08/22/18

  1. That flaming falcon on the cover promises (or should I say ‘threatens’?) a blazing showdown from Zaira, now that the trilogy is headed toward its conclusion. If the narrative progression keeps us as it did from book 1 to book 2, we can expect that book 3 will be an amazing read!

    Like

  2. Whoa, that cover just slapped me upside the head. So fiery and bright, it really pops off the screen!

    I knew you liked this series, but hearing it’s one of your favorites in recent years makes me compelled to pick it up sooner! I just TBR’d it. 😉 I’m excited for you!

    Like

  3. I’m with Tammy, another series that I wish I’d got on board with and that I now feel so behind with. I love the covers and I really do want to read these – in fact I bought the first one on audio – now, if I can just get used to putting my earphones in whenever I’m doing other things I’ll be onto a winner! I usually remember just as I’m finishing and about to sit down – which is the time I, of course, pick up my latest book. It’s all about conditioning.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: