Mogsy’s Bookshelf Roundup: Stacking the Shelves & Recent Reads

Bookshelf Roundup is a feature I do every other weekend which fills the role of several blog memes, like Stacking the Shelves where I talk about the new books I’ve added to my library or received for review, as well as It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? where I round up what I’ve read since the last update and what I’m planning to read soon. Mostly it also serves as a recap post, so sometimes I’ll throw in stuff like reading challenge progress reports, book lists, and other random bookish thoughts or announcements.

black line

Received for Review

As we head into summer, the activity in my mailbox has been crazy with ARCs and finished copies coming in hot and fast. I’m actually a little behind with cataloging all the newly arrived titles, but I’m definitely working on it. Thank you to the publishers for the following review copies received. For more details and full descriptions of the books, be sure to click the links to their Goodreads pages!

Inspired by the future imagined at the 1939 World’s Fair, Slaves of the Switchboard of Doom by Bradley W. Schenck was pitched to me as Fritz Lang’s Metropolis meets Futuramawhich is just too damn cool. I’m planning a review for June and there’s a fun giveaway in the works too, so keep your eyes out for that! With thanks to Tor Books for the ARC.

Up next, a couple of ARCs from the amazing folks at Ace/Roc/DAW: The Legion of Flame by Anthony Ryan is the sequel to last year’s The Waking Fire and I’m really excited to continue the series. The Cityborn by Edward Willett is also a new one to me, though I think I’ve read some of the author’s other books published under another name. From the description, it sounds like a YA/Adult crossover sci-fi standalone, so that should be interesting! My thanks to the publisher for putting it on my radar.

Vanguard by Jack Campbell – I’ve been meaning to read Campbell’s military science fiction for a long time, and with his return to the Lost Fleet world with the start of a brand new series, I saw this as the perfect opportunity. With thanks to Ace Books for the finished copy.

Thanks also to Simon and Schuster for sending me this surprise finished copy of The Only Child by Andrew Pyper – I definitely want to read it! The story sounds very different from the only other book I’ve read by Pyper, but I’m interested in seeing how things will play out.

This finished copy of The Berlin Project by Gregory Benford was another surprise, courtesy of Saga Press as well as the kind folks at Wunderkind PR. I have a review of this World War II alternate history scheduled for next week, so stay tuned!

Earlier in the week I also received an unsolicited ARC of Cormorant Run by Lilith Saintcrow. I’ve not had the best luck with the author’s books in the past, but I have a pretty good feeling about this one, a post-apocalyptic sci-fi novel featuring trans-dimensional rifts and aliens. With thanks to Orbit Books.

As well, you all know how much I adore Western fantasy/paranormal novels especially with a horror bent – enter In the Valley of the Sun by Andy Davidson, described as a chilling tale of terror and suspense set deep in the Texas desert and recommended for fans of Joe Hill, Cormac McCarthy, and classic Anne Rice. My thanks to Skyhorse Publishing for the ARC!

Last week I also received this finished copy of Long Dark Dusk by J.P. Smythe, follow-up to the Arthur C. Clarke Award nominated Way Down Dark. I have the first book still on my to-read list, which I guess is getting bumped up now that the sequel is out. Maybe I’ll start it later in the week end even finish, since it’s such a short book. With thanks to Quercus.

Speaking of sequels, an ARC of Zero G: Green Space by William Shatner and Jeff Rovin also landed unexpectedly on my doorstep last week. William Shatner is well-loved for his role as Captain Kirk in this Star Trek-obsessed household, but I’ve not actually read any of his books. I confess I’m kinda curious about this series, and wouldn’t mind giving it a try if I have time. With thanks to Simon & Schuster.

I would also like to thank Pyr Books for this finished copy of Nebula Awards Showcase 2017 edited by Julie E. Czerneda – one day soon, I hope to check out one of these fantastic anthologies!

And finally, this is an interesting one: The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck and illustrated/adapted by Nick Bertozzi is a graphic novel of the 1931 Pulitzer Prize-winning classic about a Chinese farmer and his family in rural China. I’ve never read the original, so maybe I should do that first before checking out this adaptation, but I’m definitely intrigued. With thanks again to Simon & Schuster.

And hey, maybe luck is with me again. Granted, these days I’m not entering a lot of giveaways because of all the books I have on my to-read pile already, but last month I couldn’t resist entering this one for The Space Between the Stars by Anne Corlett and I actually won an ARC. It’s so shiny and I can’t wait to check it out.

The next two books I actually received a while ago, with thanks to Simon and Schuster for Young Readers. Unfortunately, I’m not a big reader of Middle Grade books and chances are I probably won’t get a chance to get to them. Before I donate to the Children’s Library though, I thought I would see if I can find them new homes with any of my fellow bloggers. So if you’re in the US, send me an email if you might be interested in reviewing Amina’s Voice by Hena Khan or The Gauntlet by Karuna Riazi and I can send them your way!

  

  

Now quick, to the digital pile! I’ve been good, in the last few weeks the only NetGalley request I made was for The Beautiful Ones by Silvia Moreno-Garcia. My thanks to Thomas Dunne Books for approving me.

Plus, more goodies courtesy of Tor.com, this time e-galleys for Null States by Malka Older and A Song for Quiet by Cassandra Khaw. Both are sequels to books I have not read yet, I am so behind!

I also received several more audiobooks for review this week. I’m really excited about Children of Time by Adrian Tchaikovsky because for so long I’ve wanted to read something by the author, and I’ve heard some excellent things about this book. Next is Injection Burn by Jason M. Hough, the start of his new duology set in the world of his Dire Earth Cycle. And finally, I was so happy when I found out that the Laura Elliston series was getting audiobooks, I couldn’t help but request book two Blood Oath by Melissa Lenhard. I have the eARC as well, but something tells me I might enjoy it even more in audio. With thanks to Audible Studios, Penguin Random House Audio, and Hachette Audio.

Reviews

Here is where I do a roundup of my reviews posted in the last two weeks:

The Boy on the Bridge by M.R. Carey (4.5 of 5 stars)
The Last Iota by Robert Kroese (4.5 of 5 stars)
Cold Welcome by Elizabeth Moon (4 of 5 stars)
Ararat by Christopher Golden (3.5 of 5 stars)
The Empire’s Ghost by Isabelle Steiger (3.5 of 5 stars)
Hunted by Meagan Spooner (3.5 of 5 stars)
Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh (3 of 5 stars)

Roundup Highlights:

 

What I’ve Read Since the Last Update

Here’s a list of books I finished recently. Reviews for most of these will be up over the next few of weeks!

   

   

black line

Have you heard of or read any of the books featured this week? What caught your eye? Any new discoveries? I hope you found something interesting for a future read! Let me know what you plan on checking out. Until next time, see you next Roundup!:)

Advertisements

35 Comments on “Mogsy’s Bookshelf Roundup: Stacking the Shelves & Recent Reads

  1. Pretty awesome haul! Slaves of the Switchboard of Doom looks good (and love that title), and Cormorant Run i may have to look at. And curious about Luna as I love the art on that one too (and the sequel). Lots of good looking SF here.

    Like

  2. OK that haul of ARC’s are going to keep you pretty busy! I’m actually glad I don’t bother with ARCs myself or I’d never get into the book backlog that I have in my house! Have a good weekend!

    Like

    • Yeah, most of my new arrivals are unsolicited ARCs/finished copies these days, so there’s a lot of temptation and distractions pulling me away from my backlog. Not that I’m really complaining, of course 😀

      Like

  3. What an amazing collection of titles! (and I’m trying not to look too closely at it, because my TBR list can’t take the strain… LOL LOL)
    The one item that stood out, though, was the graphic novel version of Ms. Buck’s The Good Earth, a novel I read so many, many years ago (dinosaurs were still walking around I guess 😀 ) and that I remember quite fondly. It would be interesting to revisit it as a graphic novel…

    Like

  4. I just finished The Boy on the Bridge and loved it. In fact, it’s going to be my first book review in, how many weeks? Not sure the slump is over yet, but I’m getting the urge to write a review, so I guess that’s a good sign. I read The Good Earth years ago and I’m curious to hear more about the graphic novel.

    Like

  5. Ooh, can’t wait to read your reviews of The Berlin Project and Luna! Also, WOW, a graphic novel of The Good Earth? I hadn’t heard of that before! It might actually get me to read the real thing, too 😂 Nice roundup, as always!

    Like

    • My review of The Berlin Project is due to go up tomorrow, it probably isn’t the kind of book I’d usually read, but it’s interesting! And my review of Luna should be up soon too, I didn’t think it was as good as the first book but it was still very enjoyable! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • TBP does sound really interesting! It seems “WWII alternate history” is almost its own subgenre, these days! I’ll be interested to hear your thoughts on it 🙂

        Like

    • It’s tough sometimes – I usually give priority to the books I actually requested, but often something unsolicited catches my eye and shoots right up to the top of the TBR and I’m always tempted to leap frog them over others 🙂

      Like

    • I’m with you, I liked The Star-Touched Queen but there was something about A Crown of Wishes that made it a more enjoyable and quick read. In the end I rated both books the same though, because I thought they each have their strengths 🙂

      Like

  6. Your book hauls never cease to impress. 🙂 I don’t think any of these were on my radar before, but as always I’ll keep an eye out for your reviews.

    In terms of my new books, I’m renting Sarah Beth Durst’s The Queen of Blood from the library. I’m only 50 or so pages in, so I don’t have a concrete opinion of it yet, but I do think the nature-spirit magic system and worldbuilding is interesting.

    Like

  7. I’m so behind on blogging/my tbr that I’m going to need to look up most of the titles you featured/discussed here^^ You always have the best variety of fantasy/sci-fi books though so I’m off to Goodreads now 😀 Happy reading! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: