Archives

#SciFiMonth Sci-5 Tuesday: Gaming and Virtual Worlds

To celebrate science fiction during the month of November, I’ve put together a series of posts I’ll be doing on Tuesdays to highlight the sci-fi tropes or themes that I find simply irresistible! I’ve also been fortunate to read some great books in the genre over the last few years, and to give them some […]

Read More

#SciFiMonth Sci-5 Tuesday: Alien Invasion

To celebrate science fiction during the month of November, I’ve put together a series of posts I’ll be doing every Tuesday to highlight the sci-fi tropes or themes that I find simply irresistible! I’ve also been fortunate to read some great books in the genre over the last few years, and to give them some […]

Read More

Friday Face-Off: First Contact

Welcome to The Friday Face-Off, a weekly meme created by Books by Proxy! Each Friday, we will pit cover against cover while also taking the opportunity to showcase gorgeous artwork and feature some of our favorite book covers. If you want to join the fun, simply choose a book each Friday that fits that week’s predetermined […]

Read More

Mogsy’s Bookshelf Roundup: Stacking the Shelves & Recent Reads

Bookshelf Roundup is a feature I do every other weekend which fills the role of several blog memes, like Stacking the Shelves where I talk about the new books I’ve added to my library or received for review, as well as It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? where I round up what I’ve read since the […]

Read More

Book Review: Armada by Ernest Cline

A review copy was provided to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. Armada by Ernest Cline Genre: Science Fiction Series: Stand Alone Publisher: Crown (July 14, 2015) Author Information: Website | Twitter Mogsy’s Rating: 4 of 5 stars For fans of Ernest Cline’s Ready Player One, I don’t think there’s any other book […]

Read More

Tough Traveling: Otherworldly Creatures (Tentacles Preferred)

The Thursday feature “Tough Traveling” is the brainchild of Nathan of Review Barn, who has come up with the excellent idea of making a new list each week based on the most common tropes in fantasy, as seen in (and inspired by) The Tough Guide to Fantasyland by Diana Wynn Jones. Nathan has invited anyone who […]

Read More

Tough Traveling: Fathers

The Thursday feature “Tough Traveling” is the brainchild of Nathan of Review Barn, who has come up with the excellent idea of making a new list each week based on the most common tropes in fantasy, as seen in (and inspired by) The Tough Guide to Fantasyland by Diana Wynn Jones. Nathan has invited anyone […]

Read More

Mogsy’s Bookshelf Roundup: New Books, Reading Challenges Update, Books I’ve Read

Bookshelf Roundup is a feature I do every two weeks where I talk about the new books I’ve added to my library or received for review, what I plan to read soon, and what I’ve finished reading in the last fortnight. Sometimes I throw in progress reports like reading challenge updates. Received for Review It’s been […]

Read More

Teaser Tuesday & Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Anticipated (Audiobook) Releases For the Rest of 2015

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following: • Grab your current read • Open to a random page • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! […]

Read More