Waiting on Wednesday 04/26/23

Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme that first originated at Breaking the Spine but has since linked up with “Can’t Wait Wednesday” at Wishful Endings now that the original creator is unable to host it anymore. Either way, this fun feature is a chance to showcase the upcoming releases that we can’t wait to get our hands on!

Mogsy’s Pick

Edenville by Sam Rebelein (October 3, 2023 by William Morrow)

When it’s done right, mashing together humor and horror is an excellent way to get my attention. Though it’s not exactly what comes to mind when I think Paul Tremblay or Stephen Graham Jones who are the authors being compared to in the blurb, I’ve enjoyed both their works, so consider me curious about what this debut might have to offer.

“An unsettling, immersive, and wildly entertaining debut novel from an exciting new voice in horror for fans of Paul Tremblay and Stephen Graham Jones.

After publishing his debut novel, The Shattered Man, to disappointing sales and reviews, Campbell P. Marion is struggling to find inspiration for a follow-up. When Edenville College invites him to join as a writer-in-residence, he’s convinced that his bad luck has finally taken a turn. His girlfriend Quinn isn’t so sure—she grew up near Edenville and has good reasons for not wanting to move back. Cam disregards her skepticism and accepts the job, with Quinn reluctantly following along.

But there’s something wrong in Edenville. Despite the charming old ladies milling about Main Street and picturesque sunflowers dotting the sidewalks, poison lurks beneath the surface. As a series of strange and ominous events escalate among Edenville and its residents, Cam and Quinn find themselves entangled in a dark and disturbing history.

Told with equal parts horror and humor, Edenville explores the urban legends that fuel our nightmares and the ways in which ambition can overshadow our best instincts. Sam Rebelein is an exciting, sharp new voice, sure to terrify readers for years to come.”

6 Comments on “Waiting on Wednesday 04/26/23”

  1. Hmmmm, I don’t think I’ve read anything by Tremblay or Jones yet so I’m not sure what to compare this to, but I would be interested in trying it if it manages to mix horror and humor successfully.

    Like

    • I loved Head Full of Ghosts which was the first book I’ve ever read by Tremblay, but then everything else has been blah. Jones is the opposite, everything I’ve read by him has been blah EXCEPT for his latest which I loved. LOL, so who knows where this one will fall!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: