Bookshelf Roundup: 04/24/22: Stacking the Shelves & Recent Reads

Bookshelf Roundup is a feature I do every weekend which fills the role of several blog memes, like Stacking the Shelves where I talk about the new books I’ve added to my library or received for review, as well as It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? where I summarize what I’ve finished reading in the last week and what I’m planning to read soon. Mostly it also serves as a recap post, so sometimes I’ll throw in stuff like reading challenge progress reports, book lists, and other random bookish thoughts or announcements.

black line

Yes, I’m a day behind with this update, but that seems to be the story of my life lately! I always say this, but hopefully this week will be better. Visiting family members have all gone home, so it’s just a matter of easing back into the regular schedule.

Received for Review

My thanks to the publishers and authors for the following review copies received, and be sure to click the links to their Goodreads pages for more details and full descriptions!

Cheers to the kind folks at William Morrow for a finished copy of City on Fire by Don Winslow. This mystery crime thriller is going to be a huge deal this spring, after the initial release date was pushed back six months. I’m going to be picking this one up next and I’m so excited!

With thanks also to Tor Books for sending me an ARC of Daughter of Redwinter by Ed McDonald. From the author of the Raven’s Mark trilogy comes this first book of a new dark fantasy series that I just can’t to sink my teeth into.

I also want to thank the Tordotcom team for the following review copies: And Then I Woke Up by Malcolm Devlin is described as a horror debut that seamlessly blends “Fake News” with zombies, and Drunk on All Your Strange New Words by Eddie Robson which is a locked room mystery with aliens. Both of these sound awesome.

In the new digital arrivals, with thanks to Penguin Random House Audio for listening copies of a trio of historical thrillers! The Fervor by Alma Katsu is a supernatural psychological horror taking place in a WWII Japanese American internment camp; The Hacienda by Isabel Cañas is described as a gothic haunted-house tale of suspense set in the aftermath of the Mexican War of Independence; and finally, The Lioness by Chris Bohjalian grabbed my attention with its premise of a historical thriller about a 1960s group of Hollywood friends embarking on a safari to the Serengeti…and then everything goes wrong. I’ve always wanted to read the author, and not gonna lie, but the blurb name-dropping Agatha Christie was a huge part of it too.

And finally, my thanks to Simon & Schuster Audio for an ALC of Deep Water by Emma Bamford, a thriller following a couple on a remote island getaway described in the vein of Into the Jungle and The Ruins. I requested this because there’s nothing more alluring than terror in paradise.

Reviews

Or Else by Joe Hart (3.5 of 5 stars)
The City of Dusk by Tara Sim (2 of 5 stars)

What I’ve Been Reading

Have you heard of or read any of the books featured this week? What caught your eye? Any new discoveries? I hope you found something interesting for a future read!

7 Comments on “Bookshelf Roundup: 04/24/22: Stacking the Shelves & Recent Reads”

  1. Waiting to read Daughter of Redwinter which I’m looking forward to. And also interested in the Lioness – I like the idea of the safari where everything goes wrong.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: