Bookshelf Roundup 06/20/20: Stacking the Shelves & Recent Reads

Bookshelf Roundup is a feature I do every weekend which fills the role of several blog memes, like Stacking the Shelves where I talk about the new books I’ve added to my library or received for review, as well as It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? where I summarize what I’ve finished reading in the last week and what I’m planning to read soon. Mostly it also serves as a recap post, so sometimes I’ll throw in stuff like reading challenge progress reports, book lists, and other random bookish thoughts or announcements.

black line

Received for Review

My thanks to the publishers and authors for the following review copies received, and be sure to click the links to their Goodreads pages for more details and full descriptions!

After my TBR exploded in last update, it’s nice to have a lighter week to catch up. I did receive a few ARCs in the mail though, first with thanks to Henry Holt and Co. BYR and Kaye Publicity for a copy of They Threw Us Away by Daniel Kraus, the first book of a middle grade series which was pitched to me as Toy Story meets Lord of the Flies. How could I resist?

With thanks to Tachyon Publications I also received Nucleation by Kimberly Unger, a debut author and game designer who has written a sci-fi techno-thriller involving VR, nanites, corporate espionage, a murder mystery and more. Whew, that’s a lot! But it’s certainly hooked my interest.

As well, it’s great to see Subterranean Press has started up their mailings again. Earlier this week I received Fishing for Dinosaurs and Other Stories by Joe R. Lansdale, the author’s latest collection containing tales of fantasy legends and adventure, including a brand new original novella. My thanks to the publisher!

Not a lot in the digital haul this week either, just a couple of eARCs which were NetGalley widget invites. A Dance with Fate by Juliet Marillier is the sequel to The Harp of Kings, and hitting the button was a no-brainer since she’s a must-read author. However, I was also intrigued by The Space Between Worlds by Micaiah Johnson, a debut about multiverse travel described as perfect for fans of Interstellar, Mad Max, and Looper. With thanks to Ace Books and Del Rey Books respectively.

Reviews

What Lies Between Us by John Marrs (4.5 of 5 stars)
Ballistic by Marko Kloos (4 of 5 stars)
Under Ordshaw by Phil Williams (4 of 5 stars)
Hella by David Gerrold (3 of 5 stars)

Roundup Hightlights:

This Week’s Reads

black line

Have you heard of or read any of the books featured this week? What caught your eye? Any new discoveries? I hope you found something interesting for a future read! Let me know what you plan on checking out. Until next time, see you next Roundup!:)

25 Comments on “Bookshelf Roundup 06/20/20: Stacking the Shelves & Recent Reads”

  1. That Lansdale collection caught my eyes. I won’t be able to squeeze that in – my story tbr is overflowing.
    I got a stroke at Netgalley with nearly all my requests fulfilled and even some wishes. Which is strange given my subpar feedback ratio. I didn’t plan to get that much, and now have to deliver, haha. First world problems, oh my 🤣

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad the load was a bit lighter this week. Do you feel a self-imposed pressure to read, rate and review all the arcs and stuff you get? I do and that is why I quit Netgalley. Sometimes it would be nice if we could tweak ourselves and change something that seems to be in our nature 😀

    Like

  3. I accepted They Threw Us Away too, but I haven’t received it yet. I did get a Saga book in the mail yesterday, my first book mail in weeks, and I was literally stunned!

    Like

  4. OOh nice new reads! All totally new to me ones. I hope you enjoy them all!

    My StS will be up tomorrow, so stop by then if you can!

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower 🙂

    Like

  5. Though I’m likely not the target audience, I really like the looks of They Threw Us Away. I hope it’s a good one! And I love the cover for The Space Between Worlds. I still need to get around to reading Juliet Marillier.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Tachyon tidbits featuring Kimberly Unger, Jacob Weisman, Kate Elliott, Rick Klaw, and Elly Bangs - Tachyon Publications

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: