Friday Face-Off: Tower

Welcome to The Friday Face-Off, a weekly meme created by Books by Proxy! Each Friday, we will pit cover against cover while also taking the opportunity to showcase gorgeous artwork and feature some of our favorite book covers. If you want to join the fun, simply choose a book each Friday that fits that week’s predetermined theme, post and compare two or more different covers available for that book, then name your favorite. A list of future weeks’ themes are available at Lynn’s Book Blog.

This week’s theme is:

“When she was a child, the witch locked her away in a tower that had neither doors nor stairs”
~ a cover featuring a TOWER

Mogsy’s Pick:
Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Rooted in folk legends in the vein of Grimm Fairy Tales, Uprooted blends magical elements and traditional Polish fairy tale influences to tell a story of a young woman named Agnieszka, who lives in a simple village with a dark secret. Surrounding her valley home is the ever encroaching Wood, a forest filled with dark energies and spirits, whose corrupting force has stolen the lives and minds of many. To combat this evil, the village has made a deal with a wizard who lives in a tower; every so often, he would descend into the valley and work up powerful spells to drive away the malicious effects of the Wood, but in return he exacts a steep price: every ten years, he chooses one young woman and takes her away to live in his tower until she is released and the next choosing begins again. No one really knows why he takes the girls, but there is speculation and none of it is good.

I loved this book. Uprooted was beautiful, magical, and truly captivating, and I’m pleased to see that many of its covers reflect this. Let’s take a look at them now:

From left to right, top to bottom:
Del Rey (2015) – Macmillan (2015) – Pan Macmillan (2016)

  

German Edition (2016) – Hungarian Edition (2016) – Croatian Edition (2016)

  

Ukrainian Edition (2017) – Korean Edition (2017) – Hebrew Edition (2016)

  

Spanish Edition (2016) – Estonian Edition (2016) – Slovenian Edition (2017)

  

Winner:

I like so many of these covers – the Del Rey edition, the German edition, the Spanish edition, the Korean edition…all of them are just so lovely. However, every so often there will be one cover in a batch that my eyes can’t help but keep coming back to, and for me this week, it’s the Hungarian edition. I love the image of the girl running through the forest, and the art style is very befitting for a story inspired by a fairy tale. I also love the simple application of colors, with the white sinewy branches standing out starkly against the black, and just a hint of gold to highlight the figure of Agnieszka and the tower in the background. This is the winner for me.

But what do you think? Which one is your favorite?

Advertisements

31 Comments on “Friday Face-Off: Tower

  1. Ooh towers. 🙂 The Hungarian one is definitely nice, I like that she’s running too and in the woods, it immediately gives the impression that she’s desperate! Plus the tower in the background. That might be my favorite too.

    The Del Rey and Macmillan covers are nice but don’t blow me away. The German edition I kinda like, and the Hebrew one too.

    Like

  2. With theg exception of Croatian generic girl on the cover, I am actually liking all of these. They all have fairy tale vibe and it fits.

    Like

  3. I’m kind of surprised we picked the same book this week! I thought I was being obscure, lol. But you found a cover I didn’t find, and it’s my favorite as well as yours! (Hungarian) I’d love to track down that edition for my library😁

    Like

    • I was actually expecting to be FF twins with someone this week, simply because there are such gorgeous covers for this book, I just had a feeling someone else would pick it because I know I personally couldn’t resist 😀

      Like

  4. Pingback: Friday Face-Off: Tower | Perfectly Tolerable

  5. The original Del Rey cover feels like a homage to the vintage fairy-tale look which I love. All of the covers are so beautiful it’s hard to choose, each evoke different emotions in me. The Spanish, Hungarian, and Macmillan covers stand out to me!

    Like

  6. Pingback: The Friday Face-Off: The Tower – Books by Proxy

  7. Ahhh! Such beautiful covers! 😀 The majority are stunning! Along with your favourite I’d probably go for the Macmillan (2015) and Pan Macmillan (2016). I love their simplistic, illustrative style 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: