Waiting on Wednesday 07/26/17

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that lets us feature upcoming releases that we can’t wait to get our hands on!

Mogsy’s Pick

The Disappearance of Winter’s Daughter by Michael J. Sullivan (December 1, 2017 by Riyria Enterprises LLC)

Michael J. Sullivan may have have just released the newest novel in his Legends of the Lost Empire series, but that doesn’t mean that’s all we’re going to be seeing from him this year. Come winter, he’ll once again be self-publishing another Royce and Hadrian adventure in the fourth installment of The Riyria Chronicleswhich is a series of standalone novels starring this beloved duo.

“Gabriel Winter’s daughter is dead or captive. He seeks revenge. Now it’s up to Riyria to turn the rivers of Rochelle red.

Desperate for money, the Duke of Rochelle broke with tradition and married Jenny Winter, a wealthy whiskey merchant’s daughter from Colnora. When the unpopular duchess disappears, her father is certain she’s dead by her husband’s hand. Seeking retribution, Gabriel Winter knows just who to hire…the man responsible for waging war with an entire city during Colnora’s Summer of Terror.

Ride once again with Royce and Hadrian as they travel to a mysterious old-world city filled with noble families claiming descent from Imperial aristocracy. Riyria’s job appears easy: Find out what happened to the missing woman, and if she’s alive, bring her safely home; if not, find those responsible and make them pay with their lives. But nothing is ever simple in the crowded, narrow, mist-filled streets of Rochelle, where more than one ancient legend lurks.”

Other books in the Riyria Chronicles sequence (first two published by Orbit):


15 Comments on “Waiting on Wednesday 07/26/17”

    • For real. He’s very good to his fans too, keeping us updated on his writing progress with each book, from drafting to release. Him and Brandon Sanderson are two of most hardworking authors I can think of in fantasy, they’re both writing machines.


  1. Pingback: Waiting on Wednesday 07/26/17 — The BiblioSanctum | Fantasy Sources: Art, Gifts, Ideas, Article Resources, News

    • LOL these books have an interesting history. There is a main Riyria Revelations series that the author first self-published before they were picked up by Orbit. Then these four books here are standalone tales about the two main characters’ past adventures. The first two were pubbed by Orbit, and then Del Rey picked up his other series and had some clause that said he couldn’t have another publisher release any Royce and Hadrian books within a certain time frame, so he decided to go with the self-publishing route with Dulgath going forward. Short answer though, yes these are technically part of the same series despite the publisher change, though each book can be read as a standalone 🙂


  2. I have yet to read Michael J. Sullivan:-/ But I do love when traditionally published authors self publish. This series sounds really good!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: