Mogsy’s Bookshelf Roundup: New Books, Backlist, Reading Challenges & What I’ve Read

I’ve always liked the idea of round up/summary posts, so from now on I’m going to do these Book Haul posts a little differently, and with a slightly altered format. I’m hoping this will be a better way to stay on track and keep up to date with what I’ve read, and more importantly, what I have to read!

Received For Review:

So, it might not look like I’m off to a very good start when it comes to my goal of being being more prudent with accepting/requesting ARCs and review copies, but I’m going to blame the holidays for this one! Publishers are back to running at full steam after vacation and approving digital galley requests from weeks before, and so the books have all kind of arrived this week in a flood.

8440e-firefight Deadeye Karen Memory Half the World

Atlanta Burns Deadly Spells The Fold Seeker

Firefight by Brandon Sanderson – Audiobook, with thanks to Audible Studios. One of my most anticipated releases this winter, I was thrilled to be offered the audiobook to review, and narrator MacLeod Andrews’ voice paired with Sanderson’s writing is a formidable combination indeed.

Deadeye by William C. Dietz – Physical ARC, with thanks to Penguin. As all my sci-fi reads have been quite heavy lately, I’m actually really looking forward to settling back with this futuristic mutant-hunting police procedural.

Karen Memory by Elizabeth Bear – Digital galley, with thanks to Tor. My interest in this one has grown over the last couple months, thanks to all the attention and high praise it has already gotten from early readers. It’ll be my first Elizabeth Bear novel.

Half the World by Joe Abercrombie – From Netgalley. Very excited to have this finally! This should teach me not to request a book on NG right before Christmas time, it was weeks before someone over there must have come back from vacay and approved me! Though, it did give me some time to pare down my reading list and send in feedback for a bunch of titles…

Atlanta Burns by Chuck Wendig – From Netgalley. This one stared me in the face for weeks before I eventually caved and requested it. For one thing, it’s Chuck Wendig! That and being a “Read Now” did not help one bit, I tell ya.

Deadly Spells by Jaye Wells – From Netgalley. I binge read the first two books of this series over the last couple weeks, and then I realized I still had access to the eARC of book three from Orbit. It’s a pretty fun urban fantasy, even if the protagonist drives me a little crazy, but I definitely want to continue.

The Fold by Peter Clines – From Netgalley. I think I’ve read most of what Peter Clines has written, from his superhero and zombie mashup Ex-Heroes series to his creepy paranormal 14. I especially enjoyed the latter, and The Fold looks to have that similar horror vibe, so I’m really looking forward to this.

Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton – From Netgalley. “For readers of A Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games comes an epic new series.” Such an ambitious claim should have me wary, but so help me the description looks good and I’m curious. Plus, I’m in need of a little more YA in my book diet.

Back to the Backlist:

Gotta keep up my goals for the year and not slack on adding those backlist books to my reading list! On tap from the backlist bar this week:

Rebel Spring

Rebel Spring by Morgan Rhodes – Library Audiobook. Speaking of YA, here’s one I’ve been meaning to read for a while. Useless bit of backlist trivia: according to Goodreads, looks like this book has been on my to-read list since February 2014. It’s definitely a book I would file under “Series Catch-Up” as this is the second installment of the Falling Kingdoms series, and there’s also already a third out now that I’ll have to get to at some point as well.

Worlds Without End Reading Challenges:

women of genre fiction YA challenge

Read the Sequel Clear the shelves

Speaking of burning down my backlist, we have reading challenges! Once again I’ll be participating in Worlds Without End’s Roll-Your-Own Challenge this year, doing the same three challenges I did last year while adding a fourth.

This will be the third year I do the Women of Genre Fiction challenge (and I will continue to do it every year). While I’m sure I’ve completed the challenge many times over in both 2013 and 2014, making a list of only the books in WWEnd’s database is a tradition I’ll keep up just to spice things up and push myself. The 2015 YA Challenge and Read the Sequel are pretty self-explanatory, and I should have no problems with them this year — the question is whether or not WWEnd will have the books I read in their DB.

The one new challenge I’m adding this year is Clear the Shelves. Anyone planning to make a dent in their backlist-TBR this year should look into signing up for this! Though of course, ALL four challenges I’m doing here should go a long way in helping me clear my shelves.

I’m still in the process of building my reading lists for these challenges, but I’m sure I’ll be updating periodically with my progress throughout the year.

What I’ve Read Since the Last Update:

Tarkin Master of Plagues Cursed Moon Unbreakable

Echo 8 8440e-firefight 3f8ad-covenant27send Two Serpents Rise

30 Comments on “Mogsy’s Bookshelf Roundup: New Books, Backlist, Reading Challenges & What I’ve Read”

  1. SO many interesting books there and I’m curious to see some of your reviews too! So curious about Seadly Spells, I’ve pre-ordered it so I need to wait to receive it now. Happy reading!

    Like

  2. Nice! I fell behind in Jaye’s series. Gotta read the second book still! And oooh Rebel Spring was amazing! Gathering Darkness even more amazing! Hope you enjoy all your glorious new reads!

    My STS will be up tomorrow, so be sure to stop by then!

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower 🙂

    Like

    • I absolutely want to catch up to that series! The release of Gathering Darkness was what spurred me on to really get cracking on that. Rebel Spring will be my next audiobook.

      Like

  3. I love this round up post of yours! It is nice to see everything laid out in front of you, right? I do a similar thing with What’s on my Plate at the beginning of each month, and then I round up all my books I’ve read for the month in a giveaway. But I guess you already know that LOL:-D I just joined WWE but I’m still trying to figure things out. Sounds like fun! Oh, one more thing, I didn’t know Karen Memory was available digitally so I’ll have to go look for it!

    Like

    • Oh it is! Putting my “received for review” books together (both physical and digital) and also adding in the “books I’ve read” is helping me to quickly get an idea of how many books are coming in, and how many books I’m reading. Keeps me from being overwhelmed 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I was just looking at the Worlds Without End’s Roll-Your-Own Challenge last night trying to decide what/if any I should do. I thinking I may do the Clear the Shelves challenge. My hope is that if I focus on reading books I already own to start off the year, it may prevent me from buying new books and same me some money! haha

    Like

  5. Yeah, great post. I love WWW – I might take part in the Women of Genre challenge although I fancy the sequel challenge tbh.
    Great books – can’t wait to read your reviews.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

    • I loved both challenges last year. Read The Sequel challenges me to keep up with or finish series I started, and Women of Genre Fiction is just all-around a great one to do, and fun as well 🙂

      Like

  6. Wow, I didn’t even know you could get audiobooks for review!! Awesome haul! I’ve signed up for 3 of the WWE challenges, the Women of Genre, New Releases, and one to read more by an author I already read. OK, maybe that middle one is a cheat, but hey, 🙂 It will give me a sense of accomplishment anyway. And its just so easy to click and sign up for those things!

    Like

    • Haha, I’m doing the New Releases one as well. But, as the majority of my reads this year will probably be 2015 releases, yeah it’ll a bit of a cheat but I couldn’t help myself! 😛

      Like

  7. Elizabeth Bear’s steampunk looks fun. I hope it’s not yet another slow paced steampunk, though. I’ve had previous grumbles and rants with steampunks.

    Like

    • I know what you mean – I’ve gotten so much pickier with my steampunk these days, since there’s so much out there now. Karen Memory was a lot of fun though!

      Like

  8. You always get such a great haul of books – Karen Memory is probably the one I’m most looking forward too, although The Fold has been teasing me on NetGalley.

    Like

  9. I really want to read Firefight. This series about super heroes sounds awesome! I wasn’t sure about Seeker, but now I’ve been reading some not so good reviews so I’m glad I didn’t request it. I hope you like it though. I’ve been meaning to read Falling Kingdoms forever. Good luck on all of your challenges!

    Like

    • Thanks! And yeah, the reviews of Seeker are making me a bit nervous, but YA can be hit or miss with me no matter what it is. Sometimes hard to pick out the ones I think I’ll like.

      Like

  10. Woah, soooo many interesting books here! YAY for Firefight especially, though I’m curious to see your reviews for all of these^^ And I never do reading challenges but this is the first year I was tempted to join up on a few…might be fun! Happy reading Mogsy^^

    Like

  11. I’m totally going to add some of those challenges ! and hooray I like the new format.

    I’ve also really enjoyed the Peter Clines books I’m going to have to hold back from requesting The Fold though. Need to catch up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: